5 relationship web series + books that you need to check out

Relationships are beautiful, it is always nice to see those black love & relationship goals posts. But did you know that it takes a lot of work to get a happy & healthy relationship? You need to be a happy and whole person in your single life before you get into a relationship. It takes effort from both partners to keep the spark alive. Learning from marriage councilors and other couples is very important because it helps to seek advice from someone who has been where you are in a relationship and who is succeeding in it.

Here are some videos and books that you can use to help you be relationship goals.

1. The Wait by DeVon Franklin and Meagan Good

This book is a great read for singletons. DeVon Franklin and Meagan Good share what helped them get a healthy and fulfilling relationship. They share how waiting to be intimate with each other helped them avoid potential pitfalls in their relationship. It will help you become the best version of yourself, be more desirable to the right person, find the person you were meant to be with and connect on a deeper level and discern your date’s integrity.

2. Relationship goals series by Transformation Church

Pastor Mike Todd will check you, you mama and your aunties! He gives practical relationship advice and forces you to be honest with your relationship habits.

3. Our love Journey by Mpoomy & Brenden Ledwaba

If you liked the Black Love documentary then you will love Our Love Journey. It is a series on Mpoomy Ledwaba’s Youtube channel. It features real, married couples in South Africa. They talk about EVERYTHING related to their relationships, their dating life, transitioning to being married, finances in-laws and intimacy.

4. Defining Love

Defining is similar to Our Love Journey, it features young couples talking about their relationships and how they make them work.

5. The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman

Did you know that different people express love differently? The Five Love Languages by Gary Chapman explains the five different ways that you or your partner may want love to be expressed to them. According to Chapman, the five ways to express and experience love called “love languages”, they are Words of Affirmation, Acts of Service, Receiving Gifts, Quality Time, and Physical Touch. Each one is important and expresses love in its own way. Learning your partner’s and your own primary love language will help create a stronger bond in your relationship.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s